Nenasa Smart School Awards 2019 – Grand Finale

The Nenasa Smart Schools project, funded by the Dialog Foundation was initiated in 2017 with the aim of transforming the Sri Lankan education landscape. The programme has on-boarded 153 schools from Western, Southern, Central and Sabaragamuwa Provinces. Through the programme, 450 ‘Ambassador Teachers’ were provided with a hands-on training on Teaching with Technology and ‘smart’ means of education delivery. These Ambassador Teachers are given the responsibility of transforming their respective schools to smart schools by being drivers of change.

To evaluate the progress achieved by these Ambassadors, their peers and the schools overall as well as to recognise and reward those who have shown exceptional performances, the Nenasa Smart School Awards 2019 was organised. After preliminary round presentations in four categories, namely Smart Teacher, Smart Content, Smart Ambassador and Smart School, finalists were selected based on the verdicts of judge panels consisting of officials from Dialog Axiata PLC and the respective Provincial departments of Education. The Grand Finale of the competition was held on 1st February 2020 at the Dialog Axiata Auditorium in Colombo.

Teachers who got selected for the Grand Finale battled it out by showcasing their skills, dedication and resulting achievements through carefully crafted presentations and videos. The winners of each category are as follows;

Smart Teacher Category: 

  • First Place: Mr. G. A. Madhawa Udithapriya Wijesekara from St. Anne’s Balika Maha Vidyalaya – Wattala
  • Second Place: Ms. E.M.K.Udayakanthi from Sri Dharmaloka Madya Mahavidyalaya – Kegalle
  • Third Place: Ms. Mala Lalani Rajapaksha from Nugawela Central College – Kandy

Smart Content: 

  • First Place: Ms. P.S.Dheepani from Denipitiya Maha Vidayalaya – Matara
  • Second Place: Ms. N.L.Wickramarathna – Walagamba Maha Vidayalaya – Kegalle 
  • Third Place: Ms. Mala Lalani Rajapaksha from Nugawela Central Collage – Kandy

Smart Ambassador: 

  • First Place: Ms. I.B.C Imadya from Rivisanda Mahavidyalaya – Kegalle
  • Second Place: Ms. Shashiprabha Arunamali Hewanayake from Marassana Maha Vidyalaya – Kandy
  • Third Place: Mr. A.M Rajah from Sulaimaniya Muslim Maha Vidyalaya – Kegalle

Smart School: 

  • First Place: Nugawela Central College – Kandy
  • Second Place: Denipitiya  Maha Vidayalaya – Matara
  • Third Place: Marassana Maha Vidyalaya – Kandy
Share this post